pastermrs.blogg.se

Cannot create new folder in mac finder
Cannot create new folder in mac finder












cannot create new folder in mac finder
  1. CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER MAC OS
  2. CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER DRIVERS
  3. CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER ARCHIVE
  4. CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER PASSWORD

One thing that’s confusing for some people, though, is that there’s an additional item that lives within each Public folder-the so-called Drop Box folder (not to be confused with the familiar Dropbox service, which’ll let you store and share files online).ĭouble-clicking someone else’s Drop Box folder only leads to more questions, however.

cannot create new folder in mac finder

Similarly, you can read anything other users put in their own Public folders. So by default, anything that you put in your own Public folder can be read or copied (but not changed, moved, or deleted without administrator authorization) by any other user on your Mac. Every user account has one, and it’s meant to allow you to read files that the owner wants to show you. What of that “Public” folder, though? It doesn’t have a red minus sign, so we can open it, right? Well, yes! “Public” is a special folder that you can use for file sharing on your Mac. If you don’t, though, navigating to Macintosh HD/Users/ will look something like this:Īll those red minus signs mean “hey, bub, stay outta here,” and double-clicking any one of those folders will tell you why.

CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER PASSWORD

Of course, if you know the password for the other accounts on your machine, you can just log in and see all of each person’s files. TMO’s Sandro Cuccia wrote an extensive article a while back about the Shared folder, which is one way to pass documents between users. You now have two copies of your data on a file system that OS X supports.If your Mac has multiple users set up-so your kids can log in under a different account and won’t be able to mess with your stuff, for example-you may have wondered just what you have access to outside of your own user folder and how you can share things back and forth.

CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER MAC OS

Verify that the data on the new disk is all there.įormat the WD disk with the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) file system.Ĭopy the data from the new disk to the old disk. Get another external drive that is big enough to hold your data.įormat it with the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) file system.Ĭopy your data from the existing WD disk to the new disk.

cannot create new folder in mac finder

Of course that means you need some place else to store your data during the format operation. If you have left the PC world behind it would be best to reformat the drive using the OS X filesystem. A hard drive can fail, without warning, at any time. I hope that drive is not the only place your 7+ years of data is stored.

CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER DRIVERS

There are several add on drivers that can give OS X the ability to write to NTFS drives. OS X can read from an NTFS drive but can't write to it.

cannot create new folder in mac finder

Your WD drive is most likely formatted with the NTFS file system which is the default for Windows. Thanks very much to anybody that can help me! If that is the case I need to do it in a way that doesn't delete any of my pre existing files as I have 7+ years of photos, home movies and music I have collected and to lose it would be a real kick to the gut! Is there anybody that can help me with this matter because I really want to get started using my MacBook properly! It's like opening a Christmas present and being told you can't play with it until after dinner! It won't let me add any new folders into my hard rive whatsoever and I wondered if it was a case of formatting it. I've looked over the site for the best possible solution, but I'm not really sure what I need to do.

CANNOT CREATE NEW FOLDER IN MAC FINDER ARCHIVE

I was looking to create a new folder so I can archive any new CDs I burn, music I d/l though iTunes and otherwise, into my pre existing music folder that is located on my HD passport. I've got my iTunes music & video library all p to scratch with what it was on my old computer, my one problem though is creating any new folders whatsoever on the MacBook inside the passport folders itself. I have a 1TB WD my passport, and so far it's been working as expected. The only problem I've had thus far that I've not been able to find a solution for is that of not being able to create new folders on my external hard drive. I am confidant I made the right decision. Hey everybody, I'm really new to apple computers and have just purchased my first MacBook after years of debating whether to make the switch from PC.














Cannot create new folder in mac finder